Executive Board of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft


President of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Prof. E. h. Dr.-Ing. E. h. mult. Dr. h.c. Dr. h.c. Reimund Neugebauer

Academic/Professional Career

Diploma studies Mechanical Engineering (Dipl.-Ing.), Dresden, University of Technology, Concentration: Machine tool design
1984 Doctorate Engineering (Dr.-Ing.), Dresden University of Technology
1985 Industry employment in design and development
1989 Doctorate Technical Sciences (Dr. sc. techn.), Dresden University of Technology.
1989 University Lecturer, machine tools and tool design, Dresden University of Technology
1990 Executive Director, Institute of Machine Tools, Dresden University of Technology
1991 Award of the academic degree of Doktor-Ingenieur habilitatus
  Commissioned by the Fraunhofer Executive Board to establish the Fraunhofer Institute for Machine Tools and Forming Technology IWU
Executive Director, Fraunhofer Institute for Machine Tools and Forming Technology IWU
1995 Chair of Department for Machine Tools and Forming Technology, Chemnitz University of Technology, while serving as Director of the Fraunhofer IWU at the same time
1998 Initiator and Dean of Studies in Microengineering and Mechatronics Program
2000 Founding President and Curator, »Industrieverein Sachsen 1928 e.V.«, an association of approximately 120 companies (representing EUR 20 billion in sales; 30,000 employees)
  Founder and Managing Director of the Institute for Machine Tools and Production Processes IWP, Chemnitz University of Technology
2003-2006 Dean of the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering, Chemnitz University of Technology
2010 Initiator and Spokesman of the Fraunhofer Alliance AutoMOBILE Production
2010-2011 President of the German Academic Society for Production Engineering (WGP), a consortium of 60 German university institutes
2012 President of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

Research focus

Resource-efficient production


»Education and Innovation« award bestowed by the »Deutsche Forschungsgesellschaft für Automatisierung und Mikroeletronik e.V.« (DFAM)
2001 Honorary professorship at Gorbachev Kuzbass University, Kemerovo, Russia
2003 Honorary doctorate awarded by the Moscow State Technological University STANKIN, Russia
2003 Professor Hýbl Medal bestowed by the Czech Technical University in Prague, Czech Republic
2005 Officer's Cross of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany (Verdienstkreuz 1. Klasse des Verdienstordens der Bundesrepublik Deutschland)
2007 Honorary doctorate awarded by the Technical University of Brno, Czech Republic
2011 Medal of honor presented by Chemnitz Technology
»Initiative Südwestsachsen e.V.« Prize, presented in the category science, art & culture
2012 Honorary doctorate awarded by the University of Technology, Munich
2012 Order of Merit (Verdienstorden) of the German State of Saxony
Honorary doctorate awarded by the Stellenbosch University, South Africa
Honorary doctorate awarded by the Czech Technical University in Prague
Erich Siebel Medal, bestowed by the European Research Association for Sheet Metal Working
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Reimund Neugebauer

    President of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

    Headquarters of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

    Hansastraße 27C
    80686 MunichGermany

    • Phone +49 89 1205-1000
    • Fax +49 89 1205-771000

Further information

Social Bookmarks