Stifterverband Science Prize 2012

Stifterverband Science Prize 2012

Stifterverband Science Prize

In 1920, representatives from the business world established the Stifterverband at the suggestion of German academies, universities and scientific associations. Its re-foundation after the Second World War is closely linked with the re-foundation of the »Notgemeinschaftder deutschen Wissenschaft« (Emergency Association of German Science) on 11 January 1949. The Stifterverband is still considered to be the mediator between industry and science today. For ten years, the organization has awarded the Fraunhofer Gesellschaft with a prize worth 50,000 euro. The prize is awarded in recognition of outstanding joint applied research projects, on which Fraunhofer institutes work together with businesses and/orother research organizations. This and the prize »Technik für den Menschen« (prize for human-centered technology) are awarded in alternate years.

Ultra-short laser pulses for science and industry

Wissenschaftspreis des Stifterverbands 2012
© Photo Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

Die Gewinner des Wissenschaftspreises des Stifterverbands 2012

The shorter the pulse duration, the more precisely the laser tool operates. Ultra-short laser pulses of outstanding high average power are opening the doors to new applications in high throughput materials processing.


The winners

Dr. rer. nat. Peter Rußbüldt, Dipl.-Phys. Marco Höfer, Dipl.-Ing, Dipl. Wirt. Ing. Martin Traub, Dipl.-Ing (FH) Matthias Winzen, Dipl. Ing. FH Guido Rotarius (Fraunhofer Institute for Laser Technology ILT)

Dipl.-Ing. Dieter Hoffmann, Dipl.-Ing. Rudolf Meyer, Dipl.-Phys. Johannes Weitenberg (RWTH), Andreas Vernaleken (MPQ), Ioachim Pupeza (MPQ), Dr. rer. Nat. Keming Du (EDGEWAVE), Dr. Daijun Li (EDGEWAVE), Jan Dolkemeyer (AMPHOS), Dr. Ing. Claus Schnitzler (AMPHOS), Dr. rer. Nat. Torsten Mans (AMPHOS), Dipl. Phys. Petra Hennig (JENOPTIK)

The project partners

  • Fraunhofer Institute for Laser Technology ILT
  • RWTH Aachen
  • Max-Planck-Institut für Quantenoptik
  • EdgeWave GmbH
  • JENOPTIK Laser GmbH