Fraunhofer Awards 2018

Jury of the Stifterverband Science Prize and the Joseph von Fraunhofer Prize 2018

The research prizes awarded at this year's annual conference of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft are each endowed with 50,000 euros and honor outstanding projects by Fraunhofer researchers. Three Joseph von Fraunhofer Prizes and the biennial Stifterverband Science Prize were awarded.

A 13-member jury chaired by the Fraunhofer President, Prof. Dr. Reimund Neugebauer, has decided on this year's research awards.

Prof. Dr. Reimund Neugebauer

President of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, Chairman of the Jury

Dr. Reinhold E. Achatz

ThyssenKrupp AG, Corporate Center Technology Innovation & Quality

Prof. Dr. Karsten Buse

Fraunhofer Institute for Physical Measurement Techniques IPM

Prof. Dr. Michael Dröscher

Society of German Natural Scientists and Physicians e. V. (GDNÄ)

Prof. Dr. Jörg Eberspächer

Technical University of Munich, Chair of Communication Networks

Dr. Alexandra Goll

TVM Capital GmbH

Prof. Dr. Horst Hahn

Fraunhofer Institute for Medical Image Computing MEVIS

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Hesselbach

Institute of Machine Tools and Production Technology, Technical University Braunschweig

Prof. Dr. Hartmut Hoffmann

Technical University of Munich, Chair of Metal Forming and Casting

Dr. Monika Kursawe

Merck KGaA

Dr. Gyula Meleghy

Meleghy Automotive GmbH & Co. KG

Prof. Dr. Thorsten Posselt

Fraunhofer Center for International Management and Knowledge Economy IMW

Prof. Dr. Erich R. Reinhardt

Medical Valley Europäische Metropolregion Nürnberg e.V.

Prof. Dr. Paul Schönsleben

ETH Zürich, Center for Industrial Management

Joseph von Fraunhofer Prize

This prize has been awarded by the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft every year since 1978, in recognition of outstanding scientific work by members of its staff leading to the solution of application-oriented problems. This year, four prizes will be awarded – each valued at 50,000 euros.

Stifterverband Science Prize

For more than ten years, Stifterverband has supported the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft through its Science Prize, endowed with prize money of 50,000 euros. This prize is awarded for scientific excellence in applied research projects conducted by Fraunhofer Institutes in collaboration with industry and/or other research organizations.