Prizes and Distinctions

Awarded: DFG Animal Welfare Prize for the Fraunhofer Translational Center for Regenerative Therapies

July 29, 2022 | Fraunhofer ISC

This year's winners of the Ursula M. Händel Animal Welfare Prize of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft have been determined. As the DFG has now announced, the team from the Fraunhofer Translational Center for Regenerative Therapies (TLC-RT) and the University of Würzburg will be honored for its research into alternatives to animal testing based on cell-based tissue models, and will share the 80,000 euro prize with Dr. Michael K. Melzer from the University of Ulm.

more info

Fraunhofer IAF Scientists receive IEEE Best Paper Award

July 26, 2022 | Fraunhofer IAF

The T-TST Best Paper Award 2022 of the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S) goes to a team of Fraunhofer IAF authors: awarded are Laurenz John, Axel Tessmann, Arnulf Leuther, Thomas Merkle, and Thomas Zwick (KIT) for their paper “Broadband 300-GHz Power Amplifier MMICs in InGaAs mHEMT Technology”. The T-TST Best Paper Award recognizes, on an annual basis, the most significant contribution published in the IEEE Transactions on Terahertz Science and Technology. The award has been conferred at the International Microwave Symposium in Denver, Colorado, in June 2022.

more info

Dr. Andreas Dietz from the Fraunhofer IST accepts 3rd place in the INNOspace Masters competition

July 6, 2022

At the INNOspace Masters conference on July 5th, 2022, Dr. Andreas Dietz of the Fraunhofer Institute for Surface Engineering and Thin Films IST was delighted to reach 3rd place in the INNOspace Masters innovation competition. The “Ferrotherm” project, on which Dr. Dietz is working together with researchers from the Fraunhofer ICT, was awarded a prize as part of the DLR Challenge 2021/2022. The aim is to develop carbon-free energy generation through iron combustion and electrochemical recycling that can also be used on the moon.

more info

CIMIC Award of Excellence 2021 for Fraunhofer FKIE

June 27, 2022

A prestigious award for the Fraunhofer Institute for Communication, Information Processing and Ergonomics FKIE: The NATO Civil-Military Cooperation Centre of Excellence (CCOE) has presented the Wachtberg-based institute with the »CIMIC Award of Excellence 2021« in recognition of its extensive efforts to strengthen civil-military cooperation.

more info

Fraunhofer IST honored as Zukunftgeber

June 7, 2022| Fraunhofer IST

Great success for the Fraunhofer Institute for Surface Engineering and Thin Films IST: In the certification process for the Zukunftgeber award, which is presented by the Employers' Association for the Braunschweig Region (Arbeitgeberverband - AGV), the institute earned top marks and was rewarded with the Zukunftgeber employer seal.

more info

Marius van Dijk honored with Outstanding Paper Award at EuroSimE 2022

April 28, 2022 | Fraunhofer IZM

Congratulations to our IZM colleague Marius van Dijk: For the paper "Numerical Simulation of Transient Thermomechanical Ageing Effects" he and his co-authors Saskia Huber, Hans Walter, Olaf Wittler and Martin Schneider-Ramelow were honored with the Outstanding Paper Award at this year's EuroSimE Conference.

more info

FAME Video Development Blog awarded

March 21, 2022 | Fraunhofer FOKUS

The ACM Mile-High Video (MHV) presents an annual Best Video Blog Post Award. Among the 23 nominees, the post “Common pitfalls in MPEG-DASH streaming” by Daniel Silhavy, Stefan Pham and Mariana Avelino took third place this year. In their blog, the scientists from Fraunhofer FOKUS regularly report on the latest research results in interactive media applications.

more info

»Journal of Lightwave Technology Paper Award«

April 3, 2020 | Fraunhofer Institute for Telecommunications, Heinrich Hertz Institute, HHI

M. Sezer Erkılınç, research associate in the Photonic Systems and Networks department at the Fraunhofer Heinrich Hertz Institute HHI, received the IEEE/OSA Journal of Lightwave Technology (JLT) 2017 Paper Award. His paper “SSBI Mitigation and the Kramers-Kronig Scheme in Single-Sideband Direct-Detection Transmission With Receiver-Based Electronic Dispersion Compensation”, (co)-authored by Z. Li, K. Shi, E. Sillikens, L. Galdino, B.C. Thomsen, Prof. P. Bayvel, and Prof. R. Killey, Microsoft Research and University College London (UCL), has been honored as the most influential, highly-cited original paper published in the IEEE/OSA JLT three years prior to the award.

more info