Excellence in Research

Prizes and Distictions 2014#

Fraunhofer researchers were awarded the German Future Prize for work on healthy and delicious lupine proteins#

Lupines can constitute an important nutritional element of the human diet. Scientists have found a way to process lupine seeds so they can be turned into protein-rich, flavor-neutral ingredients for foods. For their work on this, Fraunhofer scientists Stephanie Mittermaier and Peter Eisner and Prolupin GmbH’s Katrin Petersen were awarded with the German Future Prize 2014 (»Deutscher Zukunftspreis«).

Fraunhofer one of the top 100 innovators worldwide#

As in the previous year, a study carried out by Thomson Reuters, the international media group, has come to the same conclusion in 2014. Besides Fraunhofer, also BASF, Bosch and Siemens are the only German representatives among the »Top 100 Global Innovators 2014«.

European Innovation Prize for Fraunhofer IESE#

© Fraunhofer
Prof. Dieter Rombach, Preisträger 2014.

Researchers of the Fraunhofer Institute for Experimental Software Engineering IESE receive the EARTO Innovation Prize 2014 for the development of the software IND²UCE (Integrated Distributed Data Usage Control Enforcement) that protects companies from theft and improper use of data.

Motion recognition method successful for 10 years – prestigious award for Fraunhofer MEVIS scientist#

Nils Papenberg, Fraunhofer MEVIS

Nils Papenberg, research scientist at Fraunhofer Institute for Medical Image Computing MEVIS, is receiving one of the most prestigious awards in the field of machine vision. The 36-year-old is accepting the Koenderink award with three colleagues in Zurich on September 8th.

Katja Schenke-Layland distinguished with TERMIS-EU 2014 Young Scientist Award#

Prof. Dr. Katja Schenke-Layland.
© Fraunhofer IGB

For her outstanding research in tissue engineering and regenerative medicine Fraunhofer scientist Prof. Dr. Katja Schenke-Layland has been distinguished with the 2014 Young Scientist Award of the Tissue Engineering & Regenerative Medicine International Society – European Chapter (TERMIS-EU).

Fraunhofer researcher wins German Cancer Prize#

On February 20, 2014, Professor Christoph Klein was awarded the renowned German Cancer Prize. By selecting him for this prize, the German Cancer Society honored his outstanding experimental research into metastatic dissemination of cancer cells.

Fraunhofer solar researchers are awarded the coveted Zayed Future Energy Prize 2014#

© Ryan Carter/Crown Prince Court – Abu Dhabi

Long before Germany set out on its journey toward a new energy economy, scientists at the Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems ISE in Freiburg were already developing ways to tap sources of renewable energy – in particular the sun. This dedication to renewables over many years has now been recognized in the form of the Zayed Future Energy Prize 2014. Awarded to Fraunhofer ISE on January 20, 2014, the prize is endowed with 1.5 million US dollars. Prizewinners are selected on the basis of the degree to which they bring about a tangible change in industry, society and the environment, their impact as a leader and role model, and the viability and innovative potential of their organization.

The Fraunhofer HHI together with other contributing institutions and companies wins the Emmy#

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Emmy is a very prestigious award for excellence in television in America, and this year an Emmy Award in the Technology & Engineering category has been given to the Motion Picture Experts Group – MPEG – for the development of the MPEG-2 Transport Stream standard.