Fraunhofer Research Awards 2011

Fraunhofer Prize Award 2011

During the annual conference of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft on May 26 2011 in Nuremberg the following prizes were awarded: The Technology Prize for Human-Centered Technology, three Joseph von Fraunhofer prizes and three Hugo Geiger prizes.




Joseph von Fraunhofer Prize – research with a practical orientation

This prize has been awarded by the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft every year since 1978, in recognition of outstanding scientific work by members of its staff leading to the solution of application-oriented problems. Over 200 researchers have meanwhile seen their work honored in this way. This year, three prizes will be awarded – each valued at 20,000 €.


Technology for Humanity Prize

This prize is offered by former executive board members and institute directors of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft and their associated external sponsors. It is awarded biennially – alternating with the Stifterverband Science Prize – to members of staff whose research and development work has made a significant contribution to the quality of life, enabling people to remain fit and active in their daily lives up to an advanced age. Endowed with 10,000 €, the prize will be awarded on May 26 on the occasion of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft annual conference in Nuremberg.


Hugo Geiger Prize – promoting talented young scientists

The Bavarian government instituted this prize in 1999 to mark the 50th anniversary of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft. It is named for former Bavarian secretary of state Hugo Geiger – patron of the inaugural assembly of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft on March 26 1949. The Hugo Geiger Prize is awarded for outstanding, application-oriented doctoral theses or dissertations – up to now only in the life sciences. From this year on, prizes will also be awarded for papers that cover other research areas of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft. The prizewinning papers are selected on the basis of scientific quality, industrial or economic relevance, novelty and an interdisciplinary approach. The work must be directly related to a Fraunhofer Institute or have been written at one. This year, the first-placed winner will receive 5000 € in prize money, the second winner 3000 € and the third 2000 €.