Fraunhofer Research Awards 2012

Annual Conference of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

During the annual conference of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft on May 8 2012 in Stuttgart the following prizes were awarded: The Joseph von Fraunhofer prizes, the Hugo Geiger prizes and the Stiftervervband Science Prize.

Joseph von Fraunhofer Prize

This prize has been awarded by the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft every year since 1978, in recognition of outstanding scientific work by members of its staff leading to the solution of application-oriented problems. Over 200 researchers have meanwhile seen their work honored in this way. This year, three prizes will be awarded – each valued at 20,000 €.

Stifterverband science prize

In 1920, representatives from the business world established the Stifterverband at the suggestion of German academies, universities and scientific associations. Its re-foundation after the Second World War is closely linked with the re-foundation of the »Notgemeinschaftder deutschen Wissenschaft« (Emergency Association of German Science) on 11 January 1949. The Stifterverband is still considered to be the mediator between industry and science today.

For ten years, the organization has awarded the Fraunhofer Gesellschaft with a prize worth 50,000 euro. The prize is awarded in recognition of outstanding joint applied research projects, on which Fraunhofer institutes work together with businesses and/orother research organizations. This and the prize »Technik für den Menschen« (prize for human-centered technology) are awarded in alternate years.

Hugo Geiger Prize

The Bavarian government instituted this prize in 1999 to mark the 50th anniversary of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft. It is named for former Bavarian secretary of state Hugo Geiger – patron of the inaugural assembly of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft on March 26 1949. The Hugo Geiger Prize is awarded for outstanding, application-oriented doctoral theses or dissertations – up to now only in the life sciences. From this year on, prizes will also be awarded for papers that cover other research areas of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft. The prizewinning papers are selected on the basis of scientific quality, industrial or economic relevance, novelty and an interdisciplinary approach. The work must be directly related to a Fraunhofer Institute or have been written at one. This year, the first-placed winner will receive 5000 € in prize money, the second winner 3000 € and the third 2000 €.