Hugo Geiger Prize 2013

Promoting talented young scientists

The Bavarian government instituted this prize in 1999 to mark the 50th anniversary of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft. It is named for former Bavarian secretary of state Hugo Geiger – patron of the inaugural assembly of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft on March 26 1949. The Hugo Geiger Prize is awarded for outstanding, application-oriented doctoral theses or dissertations – up to now only in the life sciences. From this year on, prizes will also be awarded for papers that cover other research areas of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft. The prizewinning papers are selected on the basis of scientific quality, industrial or economic relevance, novelty and an interdisciplinary approach. The work must be directly related to a Fraunhofer Institute or have been written at one. This year, the first-placed winner will receive 5000 euros in prize money, the second winner 3000 euros and the third 2000 euros.

The winners 2013

Three talented young scientists have been awarded the Hugo Geiger Prize for their outstanding research findings:

Picture in high quality
© Dirk Mahler/Fraunhofer
The Hugo -Geiger prize winners: Andrea Hickisch, René Berlich and Yannick Bantel.
  • First place has gone to Andrea Hickisch, who has come up with new ways of naturally preserving fresh foods with hops extracts.
  • René Berlich’s ultra-compact microscope has made it possible to examine hundreds of prepared samples simultaneously. Thanks to the microscope‘s integrated lighting, even non-transparent specimens are easily studied.
  • Third prize has been awarded to Yannick Bantel, whose research has nipped fungal pathogens in the bud: his protein-protein interaction analysis provides an important basis for the development of potential remedies.