Joseph von Fraunhofer Prize 2018

Video: Improved efficiency of aircraft engines

© Photo left: Jürgen Loesel; right: Fraunhofer / Lumalenscape

Winners of the Joseph von Fraunhofer Prize 2018:
Prof. Frank Brückner, Fraunhofer IWS
Mirko Riede, Fraunhofer IWS
Dr. Dan Roth-Fagaraseanu, Rolls-Royce

The Fraunhofer Institute for Material and Beam Technology IWS has succeeded in increasing the stability of those aircraft engine parts which are subject to stress due to temperature. The IWS process helps to reduce kerosene consumption as well as CO2 emissions. In combination with further measures, significant cost savings result during flight operations. The research project was developed in close cooperation with the engine specialist Rolls-Royce. The first engines with the new technology are already in use.

Joseph von Fraunhofer Prize

Since 1978, the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft has awarded prizes every year in recognition of outstanding scientific work by members of its staff that solve application-oriented problems. To date, over 300 researchers have seen their work honored in this way. This year, three of these prizes will be awarded, each worth 50,000 euros.