Senate of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft


The Senate has around 30 members, comprising eminent figures from the worlds of science, business and public life, representatives of the federal and state governments, and members of the Scientific and Technical Council (STC).


The Senate’s duties include appointing members of the Executive Board, defining the outlines of Fraunhofer’s science and research policy, and formulating decisions concerning the establishment, devolution, merger or dissolution of research entities belonging to the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft.

Members from the science and business communities, and from public life

  • Dr. Oliver Blume
    Member of the Board of Management of Volkswagen AG
    Chief Executive Officer of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG
  • Dr. Roland Busch
    President and Chief Executive Officer of Siemens AG
  • Anja-Isabel Dotzenrath
    Executive Vice President Gas and Low Carbon Energy und Mitglied des Vorstands der BP p.l.c.
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Heinz Jörg Fuhrmann
    Chairman of the Senate of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft
  • Kerstin Grosse
    Chairwoman of the Supervisory Board, KOMSA Kommunikation Sachsen AG
  • Sabine Herold
    Managing Partner, DELO Industrie Klebstoffe GmbH & Co. KGaA
  • Reiner Hoffmann
    Member of the European Economic and Social Committee
  • Pär Malmhagen
    Chief Operating Officer, ABC Technologies
  • Natalie Mekelburger
    Chairwoman of the Management, Coroplast Fritz Müller GmbH & Co. KG
  • Bernard Meyer
    Chief Executive Officer, MEYER WERFT GmbH & Co. KG
  • Tankred Schipanski
    Deutscher Bundestag
  • Prof. Dr. Dr.-Ing. Birgit Spanner-Ulmer
    Director of Production and Technology, Bayerischer Rundfunk
    Deputy chair of the Senate of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft
  • Dr.-Ing. Katrin Sternberg
    Member of the Executive Board R&D & QRM of Aesculap AG
  • Dr. Karl Tragl
    Chairman and CEO of Wacker Neuson SE
  • Grazia Vittadini
    Rolls-Royce Chief Technology and Strategy Officer
  • Dr.-Ing. Anna-Katharina Wittenstein
    Member of the Management Board of WITTENSTEIN SE
  • Oliver Zipse
    Chairman of the Board of Management, BMW AG
    Deputy chair of the Senate of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

Members representing government institutions

  • MinDirig Dr. Ole Janssen
    German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, BMWK
  • Parlamentarischer Staatssekretär Dr. h. c. Thomas Sattelberger
    Federal Ministry of Education and Research, BMBF
  • MR Dr. Dirk Tielbürger.
    German Federal Ministry of Defence, BMVg
  • Staatssekretärin Dr. Sabine Johannsen
    Lower Saxony Ministry for Science and Culture
  • MinDirig Günther Leßnerkraus
    Baden-Württemberg Ministry of Economics, Labor and Housing
  • Staatsrat Tim Cordßen-Ryglewski
    Die Senatorin für Wissenschaft und Häfen


Members delegated by the Scientific and Technical Council (STC)

  • Prof. Dr. Albert Heuberger
    Director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS
  • Dipl.-Ing. Stefan Schmidt
    Fraunhofer Institute for Material Flow and Logistics IML
    Deputy chair, Scientific and Technical Council
  • Prof. Dr. Andreas Tünnermann
    Director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Applied Optics and Precision Engineering IOF
    Chairman, Scientific and Technical Council

Honorary senator

  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. E.h. Dr. h.c. Ekkehard D. Schulz

Permanent guests

  • Staatssekretärin Dr. Katja Böhler
    Thuringian Ministry for Economy, Science and Digital Society
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Anke Kaysser-Pyzalla
    Chairwoman of the Executive Board, German Aerospace Center e. V. (DLR)
  • Dr. Jens Rosenbaum
    Ministry of Economy, Innovation, Digital and Energy (Saarland)
  • Dipl.-Inform. Stefan Rughöft
    Deputy chair of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft general works council, 
    Fraunhofer Institute for Open Communication Systems FOKUS
  • Prof. Dr. Martin Stratmann
    President of the Max Planck Society for the Advancement of Science e. V.
  • Dipl.-Ing. Dominik Toussaint
    Chair of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft general works council,
    Fraunhofer Institute for Systems and Innovation Research ISI
  • Prof. Dr. Dorothea Wagner
    Chairwoman, German Council of Science
  • MinDirig Dr. Manfred Wolter
    Bavarian State Ministry for Economic Affairs, Regional Development and Energy