Fraunhofer Research Awards Ceremony 2021

Technological Sovereignty

The Fraunhofer Annual Meeting 2021 took place as a digital event under the motto “Technological Sovereignty”.
On the evening of May 5th, the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft honors outstanding projects by its researchers.
The Joseph von Fraunhofer Prize for outstanding scientific achievements in solving application-related problems and the Fraunhofer Prize for “Human- and Environment-Centered Technology” were awarded.


Joseph von Fraunhofer Prizes 2021

Since 1978, the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft has awarded annual prizes for outstanding scientific achievements by its employees. These awards are for achievements that have practical applications and a potential to directly and decisively help solve societal challenges and safeguard the future of Germany as a business location. This year, three prizes were awarded, each worth 50,000 euros.


Internet of Things:
Efficient and robust networking

Prof. Michael Schlicht, Josef Bernhard and Dr. Gerd Kilian
(Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS)


Smaller, more powerful and unrivaled

Michael Kampmann and Martin Witt (Fraunhofer Institute for Silicon Technology ISIT) 
Dr. Jacqueline Atanelov (IMS Nanofabrication GmbH)


Redox flow
batteries: A step
toward the mass market

Prof. Christian Doetsch and Lukas Kopietz (Fraunhofer Institute for Environmental, Safety and Energy Technology UMSICHT) 
Dr. Thorsten Seipp (Volterion GmbH)

Fraunhofer Prize for “Human- and Environment-Centered Technology” 2021

The joint award of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, former Executive Board members and institute directors of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, and the Fraunhofer Excellence Foundation "Human-Centered Technology" is awarded every two years for research and devel­opment services that have made a significant contribution to improving people's quality of life and maintaining their performance in daily life and into old age. The award is endowed with 50,000 euros.


Vaccine production:
Inactivating pathogens using low-energy electrons

Dr. Sebastian Ulbert and Dr. Jasmin Fertey (Fraunhofer Institute for Cell Therapy and Immunology IZI)
Frank-Holm Rögner (Fraunhofer Institute for Organic Electronics, Electron Beam and Plasma Technology FEP)
Martin Thoma (Fraunhofer Institute for Manufacturing Engineering and Automation IPA)

Jury of the Joseph von Fraunhofer Prizes 2021

A 13-member jury chaired by the Fraunhofer President, Prof. Dr. Reimund Neugebauer, has decided on this year's research awards.


Contact Press / Media

Monika Landgraf

Head of Science Communications and Spokesperson for the President

Hansastraße 27 c
80686 Munich, Germany

Phone +49 89 1205-1333